Exciting News

Last semester I was blessed to have a poem selected for publication in the online edition of my schools literary journal, eleven40seven. It was such an incredible feeling to read that email, and then later go online and see it up. That was a big encouragement for me, since there are many days when sometimes I think that maybe I’m not doing what I should be, that maybe I took a wrong turn when I thought I was listening to God and what He has planned for me. But then, every time I have those doubts, God does something to remind me that He has everything under control, and that He gave me these gifts for a reason.

Well, earlier this month I found out that one of my submissions to the Creative Writing Contests held here on campus won. That was really something special, a lot of work went into that particular project, my text-based game analyzing Indiana Jones. I believe I mentioned this before. So much more recently, yesterday in fact, something else happened. I got an email saying that two of my poems are going to be published in the print edition of eleven40seven! I had been thinking that since it had been so long since I’d submitted and I hadn’t heard back yet, then they wouldn’t be publishing anything that I had sent them. But, boy was I happy when I read that email! God did it again, showing me to trust in Him and the plan He has for me, just when I start to doubt my writing ability, He shows me otherwise. Plus one of the poems they selected was a blackout poem, which I was also very excited about.

So next week I’ll be going to an awards dinner with my parents for the Creative Writing Awards, and the week after that will be the release party for the Spring 2014 edition of eleve40seven. I could not be more happy or blessed to have these things happen to me, and it has made this last semester even more meaningful!

(on another note, I have been keeping up with NaPoWriMo, and it’s been quite fun. I’ll post some poems soon)

Happy writing everyone! And I hope y’all have a blessed week!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment